- About Gluten Free
About Gluten Free
Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, and other related grains. Some people cannot tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine. This condition is known as celiac disease. Sometimes the condition is called non-tropical sprue or gluten sensitive enteropathy.
Celiac disease is now clearly known to be genetically determined. If you or your close relatives have a certain gene, then it is more likely that you will get celiac disease some time in your life. Of great concern and interest is the fact that nine out of ten people with celiac disease do not known they have it. A simple blood test can give the physician the first clue to this disease.
In patients with celiac disease, gluten injures the lining of the small intestine. This injury can result in weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, and/or vitamin and mineral deficiencies. When patients totally eliminate gluten from the diet, the lining of the intestine has a chance to heal.
Removing gluten from the diet is not easy because grains are used in the preparation of many foods. It is often hard to tell by a food's name what may be in it, so it is easy to eat gluten without even knowing it. However, staying on a strict gluten-free diet can dramatically improve the patient's condition. Luckily, over the past few years, many delicious gluten-free items are now available on the market. Shop our online store.
Some tips; Make sure the person who prepares the gluten-free food fully understands the gluten-free diet. Read food labels carefully:
- Do not eat anything that contains the following grains: wheat, rye and barley.
- At one time, oats were thought to contain some gluten. It has now become apparent, however, that oats frequently were processed in machines that also processed wheat.
- Oats are now considered a "safe" food, if the manufacturer's statement clearly says that the processing methods adhere
to strict grain-free quidelines.
- The following can be eaten in any amount: corn, potato, rice, soybeans, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa. Enjoy these and so many other great gluten-free items in our online store.